A Traumatic and Holy Moment…

Pedestrian Struck In Minneapolis

*

I CAME UPON this accident this morning on my way to early Mass before work. I saw the car ahead of me with flashers on and slowly drove around it, and then to my UTTER horror realized there was a human body, almost face down, in a literal pool of blood. I called 911 a moment later but they had already been notified and were there probably 1-2 minutes after I was, so I went onward. Ironically I had just started praying the Divine Mercy Chaplet as I often do on my way to work, and I then requested particular prayer for him during the Mass at the Cathedral of St Paul minutes later.
*
The sight horrifies me every time it flashes in my own mind (which it has all day long), but I am so thankful to know I was able to be a “first prayer responder” in this situation, only 1 block from where I live. PLEASE if you read this just pray…”for the sake of His Sorrowful Passion, have mercy on us and on the whole world.” May Almighty God heal his body and soul. I will keep you posted as I learn more.
*
It was the most horrific sight I have even seen in my life–particularly at such a close distance.  It made me think, if I am ever in that situation, may God allow someone who knows Him to at least happen by and have me in prayer, whether I ever know it or not in this life.
*
I posted this LAST WEEK in Face Book.  I learned yesterday that this man did pass away, one week later.  I and many others had prayed, however and I entrust his soul to an utterly merciful God.  Below is the official update.  I am thinking I would like to at least send a card to the family and let them know I did see, and many did pray. It is the least I can do.
*
*
REPRINTED BELOW:
A 60-year-old man has died one week after being hit by a vehicle in south Minneapolis, authorities said Sunday.

Daniel L. Patterson, of Minneapolis, died Friday night at the Hennepin County Medical Center, according to the medical examiner’s office.

Patterson was on foot when he was hit by a vehicle on Nov. 4 at E. Franklin and Stevens Avenue S., the office said. He lived about 1.5 miles south of where he was struck.

Other details about the crash were not immediately available.

Patterson lived for six years in a foster home for the disabled in the 3100 block of Oakland Avenue, according to Michele Boyer, director of programs for Clare Housing.

“Our staff and volunteers were close to Dan, so we will miss him greatly,” Boyer said. 

PAUL WALSH

*

ADDENDUM:

MY HOME is exactly one block to the right hand side of this picture.  I also left 10 minutes early that morning, something I never do.  If I had not done so, I would have been re-routed as it was sheer bedlam later and I would never have prayed with the intensity I did by seeing it up close as I did.  It is an odd and holy privilege to see someone ready to enter eternity.  But not one I wish to have often.
*
That night I saw a lone shoe lying around 10 feet from the spot where the accident took place.  The next morning it was gone. Life is as fragile as this man–and seeing that shoe sort of symbolizes it in my mind. It had to be his. I now wish I would have “rescued” it and given it to the authorities or maybe even his family.  But a person does not truly think during those moments, at least not clearly.
